World Student Christian Federation - Asia-Pacific Region (WSCF-AP)
Contact Us !
National Movements

Student Christian Movement
Aotearoa / New Zealand (SCMA)


The SCM of Aotearoa/New Zealand began in 1896 when John R Mott toured Australia and New Zealand. During the 1920s and 1930s the movement began to relate current political issues to Christian faith. The 1970s and 1980s saw increased support for the struggle of the Maori people and challenging Pakeha (European New Zealanders) on issues of racism. After a decline in membership in the 1980s the movement was re-launched in 1990 with a focus on sexuality, gender and creating a relevant theology for Aotearoa/New Zealand.



SCM Aotearoa websiteSCM Aotearoa, which is affiliated to the World Student Christian Federation, is a movement which recognises the Māori people as tangata whenua of Aotearoa and accepts the Treaty of Waitangi as the basis of its constitution. Its aims are:

  1. to understand the Christian faith, and develop our own spirituality.
  2. to work locally for peace and justice from an ecumenical perspective, with specific reference to working against racism and sexism;
  3. to recognise and support individuals and groups whose aims are consistent with those of SCM Aotearoa, and foster the links between such individuals and groups and international movements for liberation;
  4. to contribute to the development of a relevant theology for Aotearoa.




SCM Aotearoa/New Zealand
PO Box 22652
Christchurch 8032
Aotearoa/New Zealand

E-mail: natsec[at]


Country information

Flag Map: location
Map: detail
Country Aotearoa / New Zealand
Capital name: Wellington
geographic coordinates:
41 28 S, 174 51 E
time difference:
UTC+12 (17 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
daylight saving time:
+1hr, begins first Sunday in October; ends third Sunday in March
New Zealand is divided into two time zones, including Chatham Island
Population 4,213,418 (July 2009 est.)
GMT +12
Location Oceania, islands in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of Australia
Area total: 268,680 sq km
268,021 sq km
includes Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands, Bounty Islands, Campbell Island, Chatham Islands, and Kermadec Islands
Ethnic groups European 69.8%, Maori 7.9%, Asian 5.7%, Pacific islander 4.4%, other 0.5%, mixed 7.8%, unspecified 3.8% (2001 census)
Religions Anglican 14.9%, Roman Catholic 12.4%, Presbyterian 10.9%, Methodist 2.9%, Pentecostal 1.7%, Baptist 1.3%, other Christian 9.4%, other 3.3%, unspecified 17.2%, none 26% (2001 census)
Languages English (official), Maori (official), Sign Language (official)
Government type parliamentary democracy
National holiday Waitangi Day (Treaty of Waitangi established British sovereignty over New Zealand), 6 February (1840); ANZAC Day (commemorated as the anniversary of the landing of troops of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps during World War I at Gallipoli, Turkey), 25 April (1915)
Constitution consists of a series of legal documents, including certain acts of the UK and New Zealand Parliaments, as well as The Constitution Act 1986, which is the principal formal charter; adopted 1 January 1987, effective 1 January 1987
Legal system based on English law, with special land legislation and land courts for the Maori; accepts compulsory ICJ jurisdiction with reservations
Internet country code .nz


Country information and map source: